13p per week – The show must go on

#artshourNI @acni @13pForTheArts

mariamcmanus

The Government invests 13p per head of population per week in arts provision in Northern Ireland, and there’s serious threat to cut this level of current investment.

Current investment in the arts wouldn’t keep the health service ticking over for more than a day here – so let’s get the arts vs. health argument out of the way quickly. Enough said, I think.

What is the value of the arts? For me, the arts are what has made this place bearable to live in. It is what has been quietly making the place a better place.

On a personal level, what I know is that my own journey to the arts was one of following my children. They were the ones who wanted to dance, to act, to learn circus skills, to play music, to create. for my own part, I just wanted happy children. They went to circus school…

View original post 695 more words

Leave a Reply

